Cricket Indian Premier League

DC vs KXI P – 2nd IPL 2020 Match Review

Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI Punjab

A nail biting finish in the second IPL 2020 match between DC vs KXIP. Due to a spectacular batting display by MA Agarwal, the Kings XI Punjab were in the driver seat till last over.

They needed 13 Runs of 6 balls, MA Agarwal smashed 6, 2 and 4 in first 3 balls and the scores we’re equal at 157.  In the last 3 balls they just needed 1 run to win and the inform batsman Mayank Agarwal was at the wicket. The next ball he got beaten up and unfortunately, Mayank Agarwal got a full toss ball at sweeper cover. 

In the last ball CJ Jordan hit a full toss straight to the square leg and the match got tied and went into Super Over.

Initially the Kings XI Punjab won the toss and elected to field first. Delhi Capitals had a brisk start, where they lost 3 wickets for just 13 runs on the board in 4 overs. Then the two young Indian batsmen Rishab Pant and SS Iyer had a good partnership and added 70+ runs to the total after Pant lost his wicket in the 13th over. The very next over SS Iyer also lost his wicket and all thought Delhi Capital will score low in this match.

Then the final fireworks of Twenty Twenty (20-20) came by MP Stoinis, who scored 53 Runs in just 21 balls with 7 sixes and 3 fours and helped the Delhi Capitals to reach a respectable score of 157. 

At the end of 1st innings of 2nd Indian Premier League 2020 match, DC scored 157 with the loss of 8 wickets. The quick of the baller was Mohammed Shami, who picked 3 wickets by just giving 15 runs.

2nd Indian Premier League 2020 Match Score Details:

Delhi Capitals:

IPL 2020 1st Innings:
  • PP Shaw ( 5 Runs)
  • S Dhawan (0 Runs)
  • SO Hetmyer (7 Runs)
  • SS Iyer (39 Runs)
  • RR Pant (31 Runs)
  • MP Stoinis (53 Runs)
  • AR Patel (6 Runs)
  • R Aswin (4 Runs)
  • K Rabada (0 Runs)
  • A Nortje (3 Runs)

Kings XI Punjab Bowling Details:

  • SS Cottrell (4 overs  24 Runs 2 Wickets)
  • Mohammed Shami (4 overs 15 Runs 3 Wickets)
  • CJ Jordan (4 Overs 56 Runs 0 wickets)
  • K Gowtham (4 Overs 39 Runs wickets)
  • Ravi Bishnol (4 Overs  22 Runs 1 Wicket)

IPL 2020 2nd Innings:

Kings XI Punjab:

KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal had a good first wicket partnership of 30 Runs in 4 overs, but they lost back to back 4 wickets in a span of 5 Runs and they were at 35-4 in 6.3 overs. Mayank Agarwal had three very good partnerships with Sarfaraz Khan, Gowtham and Chris Jordan. 

At one stage they completely lost the match, as they have to score 12 runs per over, however, Mayank Agarwal pulled them out from losing and were one run shot to win the 2nd IPL 2020 match.

The match got tie, due to the brilliant bowling from Marcus Stoinis in the last 3 balls, the KXIP lost two back to back wickets of Mayank Agarwal and Chris Jordan. And we had the first Indian Premier League 2020 “SUPER OVER”. 

  • KL Rahul (21 Runs)
  • MA Agarwal (89 Runs)
  • KK Nair (1 Run)
  • N Pooran (0 Run)
  • GJ Maxwell (1 Run)
  • SN Khan (12 Runs)
  • K Gowtham (20 Runs)
  • CJ Jordan (5 Runs)
  • Mohammed Shami (0 Run)
DC Bowling Details:
  • A Nortje (4 Overs 33 Runs 0 Wickets)
  • MM Sharma (4 Overs 45 Runs 1 Wicket)
  • K Rabada (4 Overs 28 Runs 2 Wickets)
  • R Ashwin (1 Over 2 Runs 2 Wickets)
  • AR Patel (4 Overs 14 Runs 1 Wicket)
  • MP Stoinis (3 Overs 29 Runs 2 Wickets)

IPL Twenty Twenty SUPER OVER Details:

1st Batting given to Kings XI punjab and they just scored 2 runs in 3 balls for the loss 2 wickets and Delhi Capitals scored the 2 runs in 2 balls and won the 1st T20 match in the 13th edition of Indian Premier League 2020.

Man of the Match was given to Marcus Stoinis for his allround performance with both ball and bat.

Points: Delhi Capitals -2 , Kings XI Punjab – 0

Stay Tuned for more Indian Premier League 2020 Updates

Leave a Reply